In order to further streamline and provide broad based operational services the FCDA Board approved in September 2014 the creation of the Department of Engineering Design and Evaluation with the responsibility of undertaking Planning and Designs of all Engineering Infrastructure in the Federal Capital City and Regional Roads network in the Territory as well as Evaluation and Monitoring of ongoing Engineering Infrastructure projects.

The department is headed by a Director and has four (4) Divisions headed by Deputy Directors. The Divisions are:

  • Civil Design (North)
  • Civil Design (South)
  • Electrical/Mechanical Design
  • Evaluation

In line with its mandate, the main functions and responsibilities of the Department include:

  1. Districts Engineering Infrastructure Designs
  2. Primary/Regional Road Designs
  • Sewerage Infrastructure Designs
  1. Water Supply Infrastructure Designs
  2. Electrical power supply and telecommunication Infrastructure Designs.
  3. Monitoring and Evaluation of ongoing Engineering projects.
  • In-house designs and design reviews.

District Infrastructure Design
The Abuja Master Plan divided the FCC into phases and sectors. The City currently has five phases namely phases I, II, III, IV and V with each phase comprising a number of Districts.
The City consists of about ninety-three (93) districts in the five phases, with twenty-two (22) Sector Centres, three (3) Industrial Areas, an Institution Research District as well as two (2) Central Area Districts and a National Park at Kukwaba.
The current District Design Status in the five phases of the FCC are as follows:

Phase 1
All the seven (7) districts in the original phase 1 of the City namely: Maitama, Wuse I, Wuse II, Garki I, Garki II, Asokoro and Central Area have been designed and virtually fully developed. Also the three (3) additional districts comprising of Maitama Extension, Guzape and Asokoro Extension which were later incorporated to the Phase 1 have also been designed and being developed.

Phase II
All the fourteen (14) districts and National Park in the original Phase II namely Katampe, Mabushi, Utako, Wuye, Durumi, Gudu, Jabi, Kado, Dakibiyu, Kaura, Duboyi, Gaduwa, Dutse and Kukwaba National Park with Katampe Extension which was later introduced have been designed. The only outstanding areas in Phase II with respect to Engineering Design are the sector centres A, B, C and D that are currently undergoing procurement process.

Phase III
Phase III consists of eighteen (18) districts and four (4) Sector Centres. Fourteen of the districts namely; Bunkoro, Gwarimpa I, Mbora, Galadimawa, Dakwo, Lokogoma, Wupa and Industrial Area 1B have been designed while four (4) of the districts namely, Gwarimpa II, Institution and Research District, Kabusa and Industrial area 1A are yet to be designed. Also the four (4) sector centres E, F, G and H within Phase III have not been designed. All except Industrial area 1A are under procurement.

Phase IV
Phase IV consists of thirty-four (34) districts. Apart from Kagini district in phase IV North which has been designed and being developed, most of the districts in Phase IV (North & South) have been earmarked for Mass Housing and Land Swap programmes. The procurement process for the Engineering Designs to service most of these districts with relevant primary/secondary infrastructure have reached advanced stages.

Phase V
The Planning/Site Development Plan for Phase V is currently ongoing. The only district that has been properly designed is the Kyami District which is divided into three zones namely A, B and C.

Primary/Regional Roads Designs
Primary Roads
The Primary Roads in the FCC consists of the Expressways – ONEX, OSEX, INEX, ISEX, AEW, the Ring Roads (RRI – RRIV), Parkways (Northern & Southern) and Transit ways (N/S – 2 & N/S – 12). Almost all the primary roads have been designed except Ring Road IV and the Transit ways. The design of the outstanding segment of RRIV from Northern Parkway to Gousa District and from Airport Expressway to OSEX was awarded in July 2017 and presently in progress.

Regional Roads
The Regional Roads are the inter-state roads which link the FCT with other boundary states: these include Roads FCT 105, 106, 110, 113 and 117. All the Regional roads have been designed. However, there is the need to review some of the designs to accommodate the huge influx of vehicular and human traffic into the Territory which were not envisaged at the time of their designs. In line with the foregoing, the designs of Roads FCT 105 and 106 have been reviewed from two lane single carriageway to four lane double carriageways.

Water Supply Infrastructure Design

The current Abuja Water Master Plan only considered Phases I – IV in its design and the following have so far been accomplished in terms of designs:

Design and Development of Lower Usuma Dam (LUD) with storage capacity of 100million m3 has been completed.

The Inter-Basin Water Transfer from Gurara River to Lower Usuma Dam reservoir to argument the raw water supply carried out by Federal Ministry of Water Resources.

Six (6 Nos.) Modules of 5million litres/hr each capacity water treatment plants and associated Trunk mains have been designed while procurement of the last 6 No. Modules and Associated      Trunk mains is on-going.

Water Reservoir Tanks 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 with their associated loops to service phases I, II and III have been completed while contracts for the design of the remaining four (7,8,9 and 10 have      been awarded and are ongoing.

Procurement process for the Preparation of the Water Master Plan for Phase V is in progress. The scope of work for the consultancy assignment also includes the review of the Water Master Plan for the city and the Urban Fringes to accommodate new development in Phase V and the urban fringes comprising Districts in Jibi, Dawaki, Katampe Extension, Dakwa, Apo etc.

The Consultancy on Detailed Engineering Study of Lower Usuma Dam was awarded in July 2017 and is presently in progress while the proposal for Jabi Dam was stepped down by FCT Tender Board due to inadequate provision in the 2017 FCT Statutory appropriation.
Sewerage Infrastructure Designs

In line with the Abuja Sewerage Master Plan, the developments are segmented into schedules 1 to 10 and 6 Nos. treatment plants. The levels of the design of these sewage systems are as shown below:

Only one sewage treatment plant (700,000PE) at Wupa has been designed and constructed.

Schedules 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 and substantial part of 5 which cover portions of Phases I, II and III have been designed and developed while designs of Schedules 7,and 10 awarded in July 2017 and outstanding part of Schedule 5, awarded in April 2018 are in progress whereas Schedules 8 and 9 are presently at advanced stage of procurement.

Power Supply
The present Electricity Master Plan covers Phases I – III and have been designed and being implemented. The design procurement for the Electricity Master Plan for Phase IV has reached advanced stage and hope to be concluded very soon.

 Plot 1, Kapital Street, Area 11, Garki.
PMB 24 FCT Abuja, Nigeria
Abuja FCT 00234


Federal Capital Territory Administration © 2022. All Rights Reserved