The FCT Transportation Secretariat was established in 2004 from the amalgamation of Transportation Units in the Department of Engineering, FCDA, the Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment of the defunct MFCT, the Department of Road Traffic Services, and Abuja Mass Transit Company (AUMTCO).


Plan, design and provide the first phase of public transport facilities,design standards, specifications and construction of traffic signs and markings, operation and management of synchronized urban traffic control systems and devices. Review of transportation master plan and provision of traffic data for comprehensive planning and provision of transportation database. Propose traffic laws and ordinances for proper regulation and management of traffic, liaising with stakeholders in the transport sub-sector to ensure the maintenance of standards, development and improvement of mass transportation. Re-design and improvement of defective transportation facilities, like intersections, underpasses, interchanges, walkways, cycle tracks, ramps, kerbs, etc.

The Transportation Secretariat also regulates, coordinates and manages the operation of public transportation, partners with the private sector in the development of transport facilities and in the provision, operation and management of modern para-transit in FCT through the provision of an enabling business environment.
The Secretariat also partners with stakeholders like the Nigeria Railways Corporation (NRC), Federal Ministry of Transport, Nigerian Police, Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), National Union of Road Transport Owners (NARTO) etc. and supervises the operations of Bus Mass Transit operation into three operation zones to Nationwide Unity Transport Limited (NUTL), Sonic Global Resources (Nig. Ltd) and Abuja Urban Mass Transit Company AUMTCO)


The Secretariat has a Secretary as the Chief Executive with five Departments and five Special Units under office of the Secretary. These are:

  1. The Department of Administration and Finance
  2. The Department of Transportation

iii.    The Department of Public Transportation

  1. The Department of Bus Rapid Transit & Transport Regulation
  2. The Department of Road Traffic Service
  3. Legal Unit

vii.    Public Relation Unit

viii.   & Audit Unit

  1. Procurement Unit

x    Logistics & Design Unit

Leave Your Comment

 Plot 1, Kapital Street, Area 11, Garki.
PMB 24 FCT Abuja, Nigeria
Abuja FCT 00234


Federal Capital Territory Administration © 2022. All Rights Reserved